Description

Abandoned disks are Classic Virtual Machine disks or Managed Disks that are no longer attached to a Virtual Machine. These disks were typically forgotten when deleting the Virtual Machine and can often be safely deleted.

Criteria

To be considered Idle, a service must fill the following criteria:

  • Not be currently attached to a Virtual Machine
  • Not be on a Free tier

How to apply

Step 1: To apply this recommendation, click on "View in Portal" to open the Azure Portal on the correct resource.

Step 2: For a Classic Disk, click on "Delete" in the top header. IMPORTANT: before deleting make sure that you really no longer need this disk and that you have a backup available. A delete operation is permanent and cannot be undone.

Step 3: For a Managed Disk, click on "Overview" in the menu then click on "Delete" in the top header. IMPORTANT: before deleting make sure that you really no longer need this disk and that you have a backup available. A delete operation is permanent and cannot be undone.

Did this answer your question?